Cult TV & Sci-Fi


    Thanks for coming to Shopping Direct. Here are some things you might not know about us:

    • We have been trading on the internet since 2001.
    • We never charge your payment card until we actually pack the item to post to you.
    • Our customer service team has years of experience helping our customers if something goes wrong. Call them on 01451 823298 or send them an email

    Ghost Stories from the BBC: Lost Hearts / The Treasure of Abbot Thomas / The Ash Tree (Vol 3) (1975)

    Release Date: 17 September 2012


    RRP: £19.99. You Save: £7.50

    In Stock NOW. Usually dispatched within 24 hours.

    Product Details

    Lawrence Gordon Clark directs this triple bill of BBC adaptations of the ghost stories by M.R. James. In 'Lost Hearts' (1973) young orphan Stephen (Simon Gipps-Kent) goes to stay at the generous Mr. Abney (Joseph O'Connor)'s estate where he is haunted by two children who previously lived in the house. It turns out the children have come to warn Stephen that Abney is not all that he seems. In 'The Ash Tree' (1975) Sir Richard Fell (Edward Petherbridge) inherits his uncle's manor and grounds. He moves in and decides to cut down an ash tree that could prove harmful to the property but before he gets the chance he begins to hear strange sounds and sees supernatural figures coming from the tree... In 'The Treasure of Abbot Thomas' (1974) cynical Reverend Somerton (Michael Bryant) is completely close-minded when it comes to paranormal activity. His steadfast beliefs falter, however, when his and Lord Peter Dattering (Paul Lavers)'s search for the treasure of alchemist Abbot Thomas (John Herrington) unleashes a terrifying spectre. Based on the short stories by M R James. Starring: Simon Gipps-Kent, Joseph O'Connor, James Mellor, Edward Petherbridge, Preston Lockwood, Barbara Ewing, Michael Bryant, Paul Lavers, Virginia Balfour, John Herrington Directed by: Lawrence Gordon Clark Music by: Geoffrey Burgon Produced by: Rosemary Hill Written by: Robin Chapman, David Rudkin, John Bowen

    Technical Details

    Region 2
    Sound: Dolby Digital
    Running Time: 110 minutes
    Main Language: English