Special Interest


    Thanks for coming to Shopping Direct. Here are some things you might not know about us:

    • We have been trading on the internet since 2001.
    • We never charge your payment card until we actually pack the item to post to you.
    • Our customer service team has years of experience helping our customers if something goes wrong. Call them on 01451 823298 or send them an email

    Six English Towns - Complete Collection - BBC [DVD]

    Release Date: 05 November 2018


    RRP: £29.99. You Save: £10.00

    Stock available, usually dispatched in 1-3 days.

    Product Details

    Architectural historian Alec Clifton-Taylor OBE presents all three series of the popular documentary programmes, which ran between 1977-1984. Guiding viewers through 'the pattern of English building', Clifton-Taylor examines each town s grand public buildings, manor houses and family homes, examining how each town evolved in harmony with the local landscape with an appropriate choice of natural building materials. 'These programmes are some of the best made on architecture, buildings and places' Guardian The first series, first broadcast on BBC Two in 1977, sees him visit Chichester (West Sussex), Richmond (Yorkshire), Tewkesbury (Gloucestershire), Stamford (Lincolnshire), Totnes (Devon) and Ludlow (Shropshire). In the second series, first broadcast on BBC Two in 1981, Clifton-Taylor takes in Warwick (Warwickshire), Berwick-upon-Tweed (Northumberland), Saffron Walden (Essex), Lewes (East Sussex), Bradford-on-Avon (Wiltshire) and Beverley (East Riding). In the final series, first broadcast in 1984, he visits Cirencester (Gloucestershire), Whitby (North Yorkshire), Bury St Edmunds (Suffolk), Devizes (Devon), Sandwich (Kent) and Durham (North East). Forty years on, the series now serves as a fascinating historical snapshot of the enduring character of each town over many centuries.